Music video premiere: Bend Low, Sweet Branch, Bend Low by The Gentleman Losers / by Sergio Díaz De Rojas

By Amanda Nordqvist


Back in December 2018, Helsinki based band The Gentleman Losers, made up of brothers Samu and Ville Kuukka, released their fourth album Make We Here Our Camp of Winter. Today they are pairing up with Ghent-based label Dauw to release a gorgeous vinyl issue of the album, with artwork made by Femke Strijbol, along with a video accompanying the track Bend Low, Sweet Branch, Bend Low.

The video, made by Hiss, captures instantly a sense of collision —no, coalescing— of human and nature. The warm, analogue soundscape against the cold, vast strength of the sea tells of how we bravely put ourselves in the hands of her mercy, her wind playing with our hair: her breath like the crisp, clear steel strings echoing gently. We are transported to a warmer, softer shade, the rustling white noise adding to the recurring underwater perspective. Sharp, vibrating pads bring us suddenly far in among the trees, soft skin warmed by the gentle hands of the sun, stretching down between branches —the elements all tied together, and us somewhere in between, thankful for the space in which we’re allowed to dwell.

The album itself is inherently somber, with slow, deliberate movements in grand spaces, adding to the vintage atmosphere. Beautiful mixes of steel guitar and mellow synth, with curiously distant beats and the occasional spoken word, allow for a rather multi-dimensional space and colour the album a beautifully lush, earthy hue. To get your hands on the heavyweight clear vinyl edition of the album, head on over to Dauw’s bandcamp.

Directed by Hiss, produced by Jonathan Olson, and edited by Steven Lambiase.

Featuring Olivia Grace Webster, Isaiah Caleb Jones. Gerald Beckham, and Levi Collins.

Special thanks to Ellie Kaucher, Vivian Lee Beckham, Leslie Bailey, Herman Wells, Andy Bair, and David Kruta.